Teaching and Learning

The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) has returned to MCAS testing this year with "Next-Generation MCAS assessments. 

The revised assessment, informally called "Next-Generation MCAS," will build upon the best aspects of the MCAS assessments that have served the Commonwealth well for the past two decades. The test will include innovative items, along with new items specifically created to assess the Massachusetts learning standards.

Computer-based by 2019!  

Next-Generation MCAS is designed to better measure critical thinking skills students need for success in the 21st century.  The assessment is designed to be taken on a computer. The plan is to phase in computer-based testing so that computer-based tests are fully administered statewide in 2019.  This year computer-based testing will begin with all students in grades 4 and 8 across the state. 

ELPS readiness for Computer-based Assessments

ELPS currently utilizes technology for student instruction and engagement in all grades on a daily basis.  The District is well outfitted to provide all our grade 4 and 8 students with ample opportunities to use computers for assessment purposes prior to the MCAS administration.  The current ratio for students to computer (ex: chromebooks, laptops, desktop computers, iPads) ranges from 3:1 to 1 ½:1 depending on the school. 

Please feel free to contact Heather Brown, Interim Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment, with any questions at Heather.Brown@eastlongmeadowma.gov.

21st wordle.JPG

Why is Math Different Now?