Your Opinion Matters!

Survey results are being compiled! Thank you for your participation. Stay tuned for more information and updates!

Conservation Commission Members
  Craig Jernstrom, Chair
    Current Term:                  2015 - 2021 
  Robert Sheets, Vice Chair
    Current Term:                  2017 - 2019 
  William Arment
    Current Term:                  2015 - 2018
  Jeffrey Bosworth 
    Current Term:                  2018 - 2020
  Mary Ellen Goodrow 
    Current Term:                  2018 - 2019 
  Anthony Zampiceni
    Current Term:                  2015 - 2021

Duties & Responsibilities

The Conservation Department administers East Longmeadow’s general by-laws chapters 10.010 through 10.02, conservation by-laws, and enforcement, as well as 310 CMR. The department assists in the preparation of various reports and plans related to the current and future uses of conservation land in the Town of East Longmeadow.

This department serves as the professional and technical staff for the Conservation Commission. The Conservation Department also serves as the professional and technical staff for residents of East Longmeadow and all developers for subdivisions and all types of business, commercial, and industrial proposals within the boundaries under the jurisdiction of the Conservation Commission and is responsible for the administration of environmental laws and policies, open space protection and management, preservation of natural features of the environment, and coordination for joint action with many town bodies. The Conservation Department provides review and staff support for all permit applications to the Conservation Commission.

The staff is dedicated to managing development in an efficient, effective, and equitable manner. It is the goal of this department to provide clear, accurate, and timely information to the public concerning planning and development activities within the Town of East Longmeadow.